Home » Uncategorized » 2010 Timothy L. McDaniel Award Recipient

2010 Timothy L. McDaniel Award Recipient


In honor of the late Professor Timothy McDaniel, an award for a graduating student who embodies undergraduate excellence with an international focus was established. The 2010 winner of the Tim L. McDaniel Award, selected by ERC’s honors committee, is Deanna Frank. Deanna is a Sociology major whose career at UCSD embodies the ideals Tim stood for. Congratulations Deanna and best of luck to you!

Among Professor McDaniel’s greatest passions was his commitment to educating undergraduates and to encouraging them to travel and study abroad. He played a central role in the establishment of Eleanor Roosevelt College and in defining as its primary goal, the education of students with a global vision. In cooperation with the college, the Department of Sociology, and Tim’s family, the Timothy L. McDaniel award for an outstanding Eleanor Roosevelt College graduating senior, is given annually.

%d bloggers like this: